Pages

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Getting Close to Nature with The Odd Life of Timothy Green


The Odd Life of Timothy Green was just released on DVD and Blu-ray in time for the holidays. This was one of our family's favorite movies this year. With our two older children being adopted, it is often hard to find movies that address the issue in a caring and compassionate way that children can understand. When we finished watching the movie for the first time, my son said, "Mommy, did I come from the ground?"

Ella said, "I love the magic in the movie. When I am watching it, I feel like I am in another world." That is exactly what this movie is about - magic. There is also a lot of nature in the movie. Since Timothy had leaves on his legs, I took the children out into nature to talk about their feelings on the movie. While we were going a nature walk, we decided to use the leaves we collected for an activity.





We used just a few simple items to create a keepsake from our nature walk, and to remember our favorite part in the movie - when Timothy's mom walked into his nature world in the forest.


Supplies Needed:

  • The Odd Life of Timothy Green DVD or Blu-ray
  • Sticks
  • Leaves
  • Glue Gun
  • Contact Paper



  
After you are done watching the movie, and going on a nature walk with your children start by laying out a piece of contact paper on the table. Lay it out "sticky side up."


Let the children add their favorite leaves to the contact paper, and then add another piece of contact paper on top "sticky side down."


Then use a glue gun to make a frame around the leaves.


Let your children hang it anywhere that they like. You can hang it in a window or outside in their own "nature land."




The Odd Life of Timothy Green is now available on Blu-ray and DVD.

Disclosure: We were provided with a complimentary copy of the DVD from Disney. All our photos, thoughts and opinions are of our own.


20 comments:

  1. It was such a cute movie and I remember how much you all were touched by it! xoxo

    ReplyDelete
  2. Loved the nature craft! You always inspire me!

    ReplyDelete
  3. awww that is so cute! I love that the craft brought the kids together and that they enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is great do you have a catologue if so I would love one to share with friends and family.
    worldcup 2016 live streaming score watch online
    T20 Would Cup 2016 fixtures start date

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love your posts about the time that you spent with the son. I see that you did the odd job from the leaf, it looks very nice. There are many services online that can help you in different spheres of life. That is why today it is so easy to come up what to do with child for free time.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburchoutlets.us.com

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadesoutlet.us.com

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.toryburch-outlets.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletofficial.us.com

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Join the conversation and leave a message!

I know it looks like a lot of options, but we appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts.

Share this on: